Media Alert: Nortel and Microsoft to Form Strategic Alliance for Unified Communications

REDMOND, Wash. — July 18, 2006


Microsoft Corp. and Nortel will hold a virtual news conference to discuss a new strategic alliance for unified communications.


Steve Ballmer, chief executive officer of Microsoft, and Mike Zafirovski, president and chief executive officer of Nortel.


The webcast of the news conference can be viewed live at


Tuesday, July 18, 2006, 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT)

Optional Dial-in Only:

and Canada, toll-free: (877) 716-4288, pass code 3795934

International: +1 (415) 228-4878, pass code 3795934

Audio Replay Information:

An audio replay of the news conference will be available approximately one hour after the call has ended until 5 p.m. PDT (8 p.m. EDT) on Wednesday, July 19.

Webcast Replay Information:

A replay of the news conference webcast can be viewed live at

Live Satellite Press Conference, Sound Bite, B-Roll Satellite Feed Coordinates:

Press Conference:

9–9:45 a.m. PDT (noon–12:45 p.m. EDT)

C BAND analog

IA 6 Transponder 5

d/l freq. 3800 (V)

Sound Bite/B-Roll Feeds:

10:45–11 a.m. PDT (1:45–2 p.m. EDT)

(re-feed at 1–1:15 PDT using the same coordinates)

C BAND analog

IA 6 Transponder 16

d/l freq. 4020 (H)

KU BAND analog

AMC 2 Transponder 1

d/l freq. 11720 (V)

Microsoft is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corp. in the United States and/or other countries.

Nortel is a trademark of Nortel Networks Ltd.

The names of actual companies and products mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.

Note to editors: If you are interested in viewing additional information on Microsoft, please visit the Microsoft® Web page at on Microsoft’s corporate information pages. Web links, telephone numbers and titles were correct at time of publication, but may since have changed. For additional assistance, journalists and analysts may contact Microsoft’s Rapid Response Team or other appropriate contacts listed at